Legal Question in Employment Law in Virginia

My question Is can an employer post employees home and cell numbers in plain view of the public eye. I have dealt the harrasment from customers over the past few months and now my number may be in the hands of these same people. This information is kept under the register for the employees to get ahold of anyone at any time for help. I have no issue with this. However I came in to work and that paper was moved. It was posted on the back of a freezer next to a window. I was told it was posted there the prior night due to the register being fixed. That I can except but not placing that info in the view of all that walk by. And this number is for the residence in which I live in, but it's not my phone line. I rent a room and it's the owners personal home number. With his number given out to the public he is now upset with me. If I lose my home over this can I sue them? I feel as if they violated me and my trust.

Asked on 9/04/12, 6:27 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

I see no legal issues here but more of a labor-management type problem

to be resolved between the employee and his or her supervisor(s).

Read more
Answered on 9/04/12, 7:57 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Labor and Employment Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now