Virginia  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 12/10/08, 3:27 am

Breaking a lease

my fiance and I have to move out of state due to a family members illness and the inability of them to take care of my fiances daughter anymore, I am under a 1 year lease since july 9th 2008 and it is now dec. 10th 2008

There is no other option but to leave this appartment and the state of VA, thus breaking the lease some 6+ months early. Now I know that I will have to pay the rent due for the remainder of the contract eventually what is bothering me however is

1)will I or her be in any major(jailtime) troubles if we do leave the state?

2) I am currently on disability and my fiance is not working, how will this affect repayment if it will at all?

3) what are the penalties of not being able to return to VA to go to scc if taken to court?

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

213 Answers given in the last few hours.

7573 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search