Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Virginia

Excess charges against my security deposit

When I moved into my apartment, the onsite representative gave me a check-in sheet and told me to note all the discrepancies. I noted them all in great detail and furnished the sheet to them. Upon checkout, they hit me for all the discrepancies I noted and took approx half of my security deposit. What are my alternatives?

Asked on 9/19/07, 9:27 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Strupp Robert J. Strupp,Attorney at Law, PLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Excess charges against my security deposit

You can dispute this by filing an action --depending on dollar amount, it may be a small claims matter.

Read more
Answered on 9/19/07, 9:44 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now