Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Virginia

My grandmother who I was caretake for just died. My grandmother, my boyfriend, and I were all lessees on our current lease. We cannot afford her rent plus our rent without the income she received from social security and we are having trouble getting someone to sign onto our lease because landlord will not let us sublet and requires us to sign onto our existing lease. Right now we are scraping what we can to get the rent money together for this month but I think we may fall short. So my question is are we liable for the rent that she would have owed?

Asked on 10/11/13, 5:35 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Yes, without a doubt (in my opinion).

Read more
10/11/13, 8:55 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88263 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now