Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Virginia

Secure Storage

I rented a storage unit and it was recently vandalized. My belongings were scattered, stolen and broken. I have a contract with them but was informed before signing the contract that the area was patrolled plus had other security measures. This has proven not to be true but it was not written in the contract. Is there any liability on the owner/management of this storage facility for replacing items that were broken or stolen?

Asked on 10/01/07, 5:45 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Secure Storage

Very unlikely if the security measures were reasonable unless the contract specifically provided for otherwise.

Read more
10/02/07, 10:48 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88283 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now