Legal Question in Legal Ethics in Virginia

I am a mold remediation contractor. A tenant of a piece of property owned by a gentleman in Northern VA and mantained by a property manager in southern VA is preparing to sue the owner/manager over a mold issue in his basement that the tenant feels has not been properly addressed. I met with the owner this weekend but he proposed payments terms which I was not in aggreement with. I spoke with the tenant telling him that I was backing out of the job because the owner and I could not come to terms. The owner has now contacted the BBB, demanding an explanation and an apology because I informed the tenant why I weas backing out of the job. I was not in a contract with any individual, I have not been payed by any individual, while trying to keep all affected parties informed of what I felt like was appropriate or required information, being as honest as I can. Did I cross the boundary by informing the tenant the reason why I was backing out of the job?

Asked on 7/23/12, 12:24 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

No, I would think not (based upon the facts as you've recounted them).

Read more
7/24/12, 7:14 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Legal Ethics & Professional Responsibility questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88122 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now