Virginia  |  Legal Malpractice

question bubble
12/23/08, 9:01 am

Legal Question


Employment

Do I have standing to file a lawsuit

regarding the unethical practices by

the general counsel for my employer

in representing the univ. and

me as co-defendants, and the

university refusal to pay for separate

counsel, despite acknowledging I did

nothing wrong? I am a college prof.

at a private univ. (contract). I was

named as a co-defendant in a Title

VII case that had been ongoing prior

to my employment. The plaintiff was

my subordinate employee. The

university’s general counsel

represented the university and me as

co-defendants. I refused to sign a

waiver regarding their conflict of

interest. The university’s general

counsel was intentionally ineffective,

as a tactical measure, in getting my

portion of the case dismissed and

representing my interests. They

kept me in the case because I was

the best witness to help defend the

university’s administration

indefensible retaliatory actions

against the plaintiff. I was forced to

hire my own attorney, paying out-of-

pocket.The university’s general

counsel attempted to settle the case

with the plaintiff and, at the same

time, prevent any possible lawsuit I

might have against the univ.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search