Virginia  |  Legal Malpractice

question bubble
10/23/08, 9:18 pm

Legal Question


Where would other party be able to start legal action

My LLC hired a law firm to handle with us (we were actively involved in our case) a trademark cancellation proceeding before the TTAB. There was no retainer agreement. The statements came in LLC name to my attention and the invoices came in my name even after alerting them of their error. They told me it would cost $10,000 and I paid them almost $18,000 then they invoiced me another $11,000. We did research and disputed almost $7,000. Even though we had communicated both in writing and by phone right from the beginning that we had limited funds and will move forward if the case remains in the $10,000 range. We were always told the case was simple and easy no complications even at the end of case. They are located in VA and we are in FL and LLC was formed in MI and I reside in NYC.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search