Virginia | Medical Malpractice
11/23/09, 1:32 pm
Legal Question
What are the statue of limitations for a medical malpractice & is negligence the same as medical malpractice.
What are the statue of limitations for a medical malpractice & is negligence the same as medical malpractice.
|
Read More Answered By: Michael E. Hendrickson |
In the case of an adult, probably, two years from the date of the alleged injury attirbuted to the malpractice or from the date that it should've been discovered exercising reasonable diligence. Negligence is ordinarily an important component of the medical malpractice claim and must be proven by a preponderance of the evidence. |
|
Read More Answered By: Gary Mims |
medical malpractice is negligence by a health care provider--just like negligence of a driver who runs a red light. negligence is defined as the breach of a duty--a driver has a duty to stop at a red light and if he fails to do so he has breached that duty and is negligent. A doctor has a duty to treat his patient as any other reasonably prudent doctor would under similar circumstances and he he fails to do so he is negligent. The statute of limitations is the same for both, 2 yrs in Va. The only difference is that in a medical malpractice case the 2 yrs runs from the date of the negligent act OR the date of last treatment for the condition out of which the negligent act arose (eg. 1/1/07 doc. commits negligence during knee surgery; statute would run 1/1/09, but if patient didnt know and treated with doc for the knee until 1/1/08 the statute would not run until 1/1/09). Every case is different and if you believe you are the victim of medical malpractice you should seek specific legal advice immediately--most lawyers will not charge for an initial consultation. |
Alexandria,
Questions Answered: 20732
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Lynchburg, VA
Questions Answered: 934
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-03
(fairfax County) Reston, VA
Questions Answered: 122
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-03
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 103
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-05
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Richmond, VA
Questions Answered: 91
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-12
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Springfield, VA
Questions Answered: 64
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-07-13
Alexandria, VA
Questions Answered: 26
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-02-20
Herndon, VA
Questions Answered: 23
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-08-31
► Is there a time limit for dental malpractice..If so, how long do you have??
► Is there a legal right of a person to force medical providers to seal and/or destroy...
► After staying in hospital overnight and having all sorts of testing being done...
► I have a law suit and have asked to see recipts all i keep getting is a copy of the...
► I am a 47 BF. I went to the emergency room with chest pain and was almost dismissed...
► I had Essure now I am pregnant Oct 6th 2008! I had the Essure Proceedure done I had...
► Addicted baby While pregnant and hospitalized, my wife was prescribed percocet. We...
More Medical Malpractice Law questions and answers in Virginia| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press