Virginia | Military Law
Legal Question
Army Family Hardship Discharge
My son has Celebral Palsy and several other medical conditions. I need to get him to a Children's hospital ASAP. I'm currently pending a Eceptional Family Member Program enrollment for him, but I have an assignmet to go to Osan AB in Korea. My wife has Reumathoid Arthritis and doesn't speak very much english, there is no way that she is going to be able to find a Children's Hospital and take care of our son by her self. My son needs to have physical terapy, ocupational terapy, speech terapy, audiology and sign language clases, orthopaedics, ophtalmology, ENT care, neurology and developmental care, etc. I have requested to have my assignment change based on the needs of my son and the needs of the Army as well, but that was two months ago and it seems like nothing is getting accomplished. I want to know how can I get out of the Army in the event that the Army forces me to go to Korea? All I want is to provide my son with a good quality of life. I don't want to get out of Army, but I'm willing to do whatever it takes to take care of my son, even if that means getting a Discharge. Thanks for your support in this situation.


