Virginia  |  Military Law

question bubble
10/04/09, 8:24 am

Legal Question


I am divorced now but I found out that my exwife cheated while in AIT. She wants to try and get childsupport for the child that they had. What can happen to her now since she is in the Active Army?


question bubble
10/09/09, 3:04 pm

Legal Answer


"For the child they had"? Who's the other half of this "they" and was this child born while she was still married to you?

If in fact such is the case and she attempts to hold your for this child's support whom you believe someone else fathered. you could petition the court under Va. Code Sec. 20-49.10 to have a paternity test ordered and if you're determined not to be the father, the court would then relieve you of any obligation to pay for its support.

Michael E. Hendrickson

Attorney & Counsellor at Law 211 North Union Street Suite 100 Alexandria, 22314

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search