Virginia  |  Military Law

question bubble
4/09/09, 9:21 pm

Legal Question


Fraternization Policy

I am an Army Officer. I want to get married to my best friend who is enlisted in the Air Force. We actually do not have any prior relationship other than friendship. We want to get married so that she can move out of the barracks. Her JAG office has already told her that it was okay for her. I understand that the Army Policy prohibits relationships between officers and enlisted but it does not apply to those that are married. If I get married is that going to automatically constitute fraternization or evidence of fraternization? Again, we don't have any relationship now and don't plan on having one after we get married.


question bubble
4/09/09, 9:29 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Fraternization Policy

Actually, the more serious concern I would see here is a sham marriage, as opposed to a fraternization issue. This could be especially true if BAH payments are involved. However, Eustis/Langley is a big enough base that the fraternization issue may not come up.

Philip D. Cave

Military Law & Justice
1318 Princess St., Ste. 20
Alexandria, VA 22314

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search