Virginia | Military Law
Legal Question
Navy deserter
My son recently deserted from the Navy. He claims he received a General discharge under Honorable conditions. How can that be? He needs to be punished for not living up to his obligation.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Neal Puckett |
Re: Navy deserter Your son may, in fact, have received a general under honorable conditions discharge, depending on the circumstances. His record may have been a decent one and the Navy may have simply wanted to "fire" him, which is what an involuntary separation really is. Without knowing all the facts, I can't say whether he is telling the truth, but he may not have warranted an other than honorable discharge. I strongly suspect he is not only being truthful, but that he also deserved the discharge he received. But he will have received a Form DD-214 which will indicate the type and characterization of discharge. |
Top Attorneys in VA
The Law Firm of Puckett and Faraj, PC
Alexandria, VA
Questions Answered: 249
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-21
Law Office of Michael D.J. Eisenberg, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Attorney at Military Law
Virginia Beach, VA
Questions Answered: 153
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-10
Sawyer & Azarcon, P.C.
Fairfax, VA
Questions Answered: 82
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-11-17
Law offices of Raymond Carignan,Chartered
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Philip Simmons
Beaverton, OR
Questions Answered: 16
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-09-10
Goodall & Pelt P.C.
Stafford, VA
Questions Answered: 7
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-01-04
Jon Katz, P.C.
Silver Spring, MD
Questions Answered: 3
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-08-29
Kirkpatrick & Davidson
Occoquan, VA
Questions Answered: 2
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-11-14
Goldizen & Associates
Virginia Beach, VA
Questions Answered: 2
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-11-29
Search Questions and Answers


