Virginia  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
10/23/09, 3:50 pm

Legal Question


I contracted a life threatening staph infection from a public shower in a campground in Virginia. It put me in the hospital for 3 weeks total in excruciating pain, and has had a continuing effect on my health as I am now unable to take antibiotics for the next 6 months due to strength of the antibiotic I had to be on to save my life. The showers were not cleaned and sanitized daily as required by VA code, and there was no other source for the infection. The park is owned by the City of Buena Vista. I do have photo's of the shower area showing the condition and lack of maintenance. Can I bring a suit against the city for the lost wages and pain and suffering that I underwent due to the negligence of the park staff in following VA. Code?


question bubble
10/29/09, 7:33 am

Legal Answer


You may wish to arrange for a consultation with an attorney in

Buena Vista who handles personal injury matters to determine, among other

things, whether the city may have a claim of sovereign immunity as a valid

defense to your claim for damages.

Michael E. Hendrickson

Attorney & Counsellor at Law 211 North Union Street Suite 100 Alexandria, 22314

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/14/09, 9:30 am

Legal Answer


The case will be very difficult. You need to give notice of claim to the city or town, by certified mail, within 6 months of date you were there. You should definitely have an attorney help you and not try to do the case yourself. Good luck.

Cary Moseley

Law Office of Cary Powell Moseley, PLLC 916 Main Street, Third Floor Lynchburg, VA 24504

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search