Virginia  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
8/28/10, 2:32 am

Legal Question


My father past away about a year ago from mesothelioma lung cancer. My mother has brought a case against someone and has apparently received a settlement or is going to. I received a letter from a law office yesterday with no explanation, but asking me to sign and have notorized an affadavit for beneficiaries aggreement. When I called the attorney it came from, they would not give me any information. I cannot, in good conscience sign something that I am unaware of what it is pertaining to. My mother and I have not spoken in 5 years, so I am wondering if it has something to do with her trying to cut me out of the settlement. How can I found out what this is and if I am supposed to receive anything. Thank you, Shannon


question bubble
9/02/10, 4:40 am

Legal Answer


Have an attorney review the document you have been asked to sign. Write a letter to the attorney (or have your attorney write it) asking for a full explanation of what is going on and why you are asked to sign an agreement about which you know nothing. It is important to leave a paper trail if you suspect the attorney is acting suspiciously.

Paul B. Ward

Law Offices of Paul B. Ward 8304 Old Courthouse Road, Suite B Vienna,, VA 22182

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
9/02/10, 10:40 am

Legal Answer


I would recommend you get an attorney to help you. Good luck.

Cary Moseley

Law Office of Cary Powell Moseley, PLLC 916 Main Street, Third Floor Lynchburg, VA 24504

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search