Legal Question in Personal Injury in Virginia

I got an odd call from a police officer in the city I work in. She asked if I parked in a certain street, to which I confirmed I often do. Then she said she was investigating a "hit and run" and the woman who's car was damaged came out and noticed my car was "parked very close" to hers. So the officer said I needed to come in so they could inspect my car. This was all very confusing, and I would have remembered bumping someone's car, but I initially agreed to stop by the station the next day. The more I thought about it the less it made sense, so I left the officer a message asking her to send me the full details of what she was investigating before I'd agree to the inspection. Including why this was even a policy matter (this is not a small town).

So can they compel me to take my car in? If not, should I go anyway? Would rather not take an hour or more out of my workday if it can be avoided.

Asked on 2/07/13, 3:02 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

No, simply tell these cops to get a warrant for probable cause to search your vehicle, and then leave it at that.

Read more
2/07/13, 3:10 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Personal Injury Law and Tort Law questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8822 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Personal Injury Law and Tort Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now