Virginia  |  Product Liability

question bubble
5/10/09, 2:42 pm

Legal Question


confidentiality--product liability settlement

My mother sued for a defective product. She got an award paid as a monthly annuity. A condition was confidentiality. As an heir do I have a right to know the amount awarded and the present status? My sister knows but claims due to confidentiality she can't tell me. My mom is now senile. My sister handles Mom's finances but only informally. There is a money manager handling Mom's investments. Mom has a nonspecific will leaving her estate equally to the four kids. Should I contact the money manager directly to learn about mom's finances? I'd like to know about inheritance so I can plan my own retirement a little more clearly. Or should I just let it go?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search