Virginia | Product Liability
Legal Question
Unauthorized home repairs
I arrived home yesterday after work and found that a contractor had mistakenly began replacing my gutters and downspots. He had also replaced all the rotten wood and moldings. I found out the next mornig that the work should have been done on a home 4 doors down the street. Apparently they were confused by house number written on the work order. Now although the work needed to be done, I did not speak to or authorize any contract to do any work on my home. My niehbor gave me the contractors card, who I promptly called to inform him the mistake. I told him that he need to put my gutters back on the house and that I would not be paying him for the work performed, because I did not authorize it. He said he would have his men finish the job the next day. If he does not finish teh job what are my next steps and am I obligated to provide any type of compensation?


