Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Virginia

We moved out of a home 1 1/2 months before the lease and fulfilled the lease on an empty house. We wanted 1 1/2 months to clean. We had a professional cleaning service clean ($250) and carpet cleaning ($1000) 1 week after moving out. The management company, knowing this, entered the home and painted and painted the deck without our knowledge...we are still paying rent. Now they are suing us for painting, deck repair (none) and carpet replacement. This is a 4 year old rental. The management company did not do a walk thru but we did a document form with management companies logo documenting stains on the carpet. They claim they lost it. They did no walk thru with paper work too. It is $7300 suit. There will be no documentation on request to enter the home for upgrades and all the while we are paying rent. What do you think we need in court?

Asked on 9/05/13, 8:19 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

My original response to your question (provided a week or so ago) remains the same, and, no, I'm not going to repeat it here.

Read more
Answered on 9/06/13, 3:59 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88953 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Rahul Manchanda, Esq.Manchanda Law Office PLLCNew York, NY
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now