Virginia | Tax Law
Legal Question
I did not receive a W-2 statement from a church that I worked at from January to June year 2007 for my 2008 taxes. I attempted to get a statement from the church several times before filing my taxes but to no avail. Therefore, I filed my taxes right before the 4/15 deadline and estimated the wages that were paid to me. The IRS is now notifying me that this church reported me as making 3x's more than what I reported. Now I have been given a bill from the IRS because of the information that the church reported. I DID NOT receive the wages that this church has reported as paying`1 me and the IRS told me to write a letter to the church asking them to send the IRS proof that they paid me the amount that they reported. I am sure (due to a change in administration) that when I send this letter to the church they will not comply with my request. Please advise me as to what I can do if the church does not cooperate so that I am not billed for income that I did not earn? I guess to sum it up, how does one dispute reported income versus actual income when the employer is not cooperating?
Legal Answer
First send the letter to the church as directed by the IRS (with a copy of the agency's letter attached).
Attorney & Counsellor at Law 211 North Union Street Suite 100 Alexandria, 22314
► Other answers from this attorney

