Virginia | Tax Law
Legal Question
separated 11/03, filing married, but separately since. Now divorced. Could I have been filing single since the time I moved out? If so, can I refile? Thanks!
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Michael E. Hendrickson |
Yes, you could've filed your federal taxes as a single individual from the time you had concluded a formal separation agreement with your spouse recognized under Virginia law, but not before.
And, if you had such an agreement, you could apparently refile corrected X returns going back at least three years from the present tax year. |
Top Attorneys in VA
Ruth Emily Kochard, Counselor at Law
Richmond, VA
Questions Answered: 415
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-21
Burton J. Haynes, P.C.
Burke, VA
Questions Answered: 107
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-01
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Law Offices of Robert Beatson, II
Potomac, MD
Questions Answered: 88
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-04-21
Sawyer & Azarcon, P.C.
Fairfax, VA
Questions Answered: 82
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-11-17
Law offices of Raymond Carignan,Chartered
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Edward Gonzalez, PC
Mclean, VA
Questions Answered: 15
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-04-30
Frank J. Rooney & Associates
Arlington, VA
Questions Answered: 11
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-12-14
Robert E. Ward & Associates, P.C.
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 5
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-10-08
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 4
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-20
Search Questions and Answers


