Virginia | Tax Law
Legal Question
How much in taxes do you have to pay if a house is left to you in a will and then sold - 15% of the sale price?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Michael E. Hendrickson |
Assuming that you would get the so--called stepped up basis for tax purposes that comes with property that is inherited (as opposed to gifted), you might owe no taxes at all on it, given current market conditions. |
Top Attorneys in VA
Ruth Emily Kochard, Counselor at Law
Richmond, VA
Questions Answered: 415
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-21
Burton J. Haynes, P.C.
Burke, VA
Questions Answered: 107
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-01
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Law Offices of Robert Beatson, II
Potomac, MD
Questions Answered: 88
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-04-21
Sawyer & Azarcon, P.C.
Fairfax, VA
Questions Answered: 82
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-11-17
Law offices of Raymond Carignan,Chartered
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Edward Gonzalez, PC
Mclean, VA
Questions Answered: 15
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-04-30
Frank J. Rooney & Associates
Arlington, VA
Questions Answered: 11
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-12-14
Robert E. Ward & Associates, P.C.
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 5
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-10-08
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 4
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-20
Search Questions and Answers


