Virginia  |  Traffic Law

question bubble
11/16/09, 1:23 pm

Legal Question


I live in Virginia....... I was given a reckless driving ticket for an accident I still dont feel is my fault. When I got to court, the judge aksed was I guilty or ot and I said not guilty. Then she said the officer is going to drop this charge down to improper driving and I still said not guilty but of course was found guilty. The question I have is, is the judge allowed to do that, can she lessen my charge without my consent?


question bubble
11/21/09, 2:35 pm

Legal Answer


Yes. of course; (after all she's a judge). Improper driving is a far better disposition than reckless driving since it is merely a traffic infraction rather than a crime such as reckless driving(class 1 misdemeanor).

Consider yourself fortunate.

Michael E. Hendrickson

Attorney & Counsellor at Law 211 North Union Street Suite 100 Alexandria, 22314

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/21/09, 3:25 pm

Legal Answer


If you do not like the outcome, you can appeal. Do it quickly before you lose your right!

sheryl shane

sheryl shane, attorney at law 4015 chain bridge road, j Fairfax, VA 22030

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search