Virginia  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
2/20/10, 6:02 am

Legal Question


If a person that can read and write some, but not all that well, has someone else write up a paper for them, as a last will and testiment of what they wanted to say, and how they want their property distributed--then they read the paper over, then they sign the paper--wouldn't that paper still be binding in court upon their death?


question bubble
2/25/10, 6:46 am

Legal Answer


Yes, if this will represents the testator's intent and is voluntarily signed by him

or her and conforms with the other requirements of Virginia law,

including the contemporaneous signatures of two witnesses.

Michael E. Hendrickson

Attorney & Counsellor at Law 211 North Union Street Suite 100 Alexandria, 22314

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search