Virginia | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
Am I responsible for my deceased husbands debt if the debt was in his name only and there was no will and he had no assets in his name only?
Am I responsible for my deceased husbands debt if the debt was in his name only and there was no will and he had no assets in his name only?
|
Read More Answered By: Michael E. Hendrickson |
No, probably not, unless his debt was incurred for what the law terms the "necessaries of life", e.g., food, shelter, medical care, etc. |
Alexandria,
Questions Answered: 20731
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Lynchburg, VA
Questions Answered: 934
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-03
Vienna,, VA
Questions Answered: 677
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Reston, VA
Questions Answered: 677
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-05-25
Reston, VA
Questions Answered: 641
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Richmond, VA
Questions Answered: 415
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-21
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-15
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Potomac, MD
Questions Answered: 88
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-04-21
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
► Can an executer use estate money to repair real estate property in order to prepare...
► If a person that can read and write some, but not all that well, has someone else...
► What legal grounds do we have in Virginia? I am the step-daughter of a living...
► I was the only grandchild of a family with alot of money. My grandmother and I were...
► Parents passed away and I'm ex. in the will, house to be sold and no money to pay...
► My brother died recently, he was not married and has one child (11 year old). He did...
► Currently, my wife of five years and I are unemployed. We've exhausted our bank...
More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Virginia| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press