Virginia  |  Workers Comp

question bubble
11/10/09, 9:14 am

Legal Question


I was injured on the job, they paid for my physcial therapy, I have been released from the doctor, Am I entitled to any money for travel, pain, or suffering?


question bubble
11/15/09, 11:10 am

Legal Answer


Virginia does not pay pain and suffering in workers' compensation cases. However, it does pay mileage for trips for medical appointments. It also makes a difference whether you have been released to full unrestricted duty or only restricted duty. You need to consult a knowledgeable attorney to determine what benefits you might still be entitled to received.

Peter M. Sweeny, Esq.

Author:Virginia Workers' Compensation Case Finder LexisNexis Workers' Compensation Notable People 2009 Leesburg, VA 20175

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/15/09, 1:27 pm

Legal Answer


The insurer is required to pay 50.5 cents per mile for transportation if you have an AWARD by the Virginia Workers Compensation Accident for this accident. You can obtain an AWARD by filing with the Commission. You are not entitled to any money for pain and suffering for your injury. If your injury is to an extremity and you have suffered some permanent loss of this extremity (hand, arm, foot, leg), then you can be paid for that permanent loss.

Jerry Lutkenhaus

Virginia Workers Compensation & Disability Lawyer 4906 Fitzhugh Ave Richmond, VA 23230-3519

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search