Virginia  |  Workers Comp

question bubble
11/12/09, 12:12 pm

Legal Question


I live in VA. I was invloved in an fall accident which resulted in neck, back,wrist, and right knee injuries. I was awarded lifetime med coverage in 1996 through va workman comp. My current diagnosis is degenerative disc disease, arthitis, disc dessication L5, sciatica, and depression due to pain. I am currently being treated by Dr.B, a pain mgmt doctor and have been since 2003. Dr. B has referred me to three specialists - a neurologist, massage therapist and back and spine specialist. All 3 specialists have been delivering treatment consistently since 2004. Prior to Dr. B, I have been seen by seven diff doctors who all concur on the diagnosis. I have consistently complained tomy dr regarding ,y pain. He continues prescribe more medications. When I told him that i was depressed due to my high level of pain he prescribed a med for it (2005). Recently I sought psychological services 4 my depression due to pain. It was becoming so unbearable and affecting my work. So much so that I had to resign from my job for threat of being fired 4 inability to perform. Once the pschy dr contacted Dr. B, he wrote to the insurance carrier that my pain mas not due to my injury but to nonwork degeneration. Dr. B never explained this reasoning nor is there any medical documentation in my chart. He does not like to be questioned on his decisions. I believe he did it because Imy pschy questioned the amount of medications that I was on and suggested a new depression med. I am no longer able to go to any dr to be treated 4 my condition or recieve ane meds. I am currently unemployed and have no means to pay for a second opinion out of pocket. I have filed a request for a new panel of physicians and have a hearing scheduled. What can I do


Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search