Virginia | Workers Comp
Legal Question
If in a storm the department of transportation and police tell you to stay off the roads, can an employer of a non-essential business be liable for an injury or death of an employee trying to get to work if they refuse to close?
Legal Answer
Virginia has the "going and coming rule" which says that an employee is not covered by workers' compensation while traveling to and from work unless one of four exceptions apply. Your question does not provide enough information to determine if one of the exceptions apply so you will need to either amplify your question or consult an experienced Virginia workers' compensation attorney.
Author:Virginia Workers' Compensation Case Finder LexisNexis Workers' Compensation Notable People 2009 Leesburg, VA 20175
► Other answers from this attorney

