Legal Question in Civil Litigation in Washington

I bought a horse for my step daughter after her father and I divorced. She lived in Idaho at the time and maintained horse there. After 2 years she could no longer keep horse as her parents refused to pay for its boarding. The horse was given back to me and I live in Washington State, there was no paperwork. I have had horse in my possession and care for ten months. During this time horse required extra feed and step daughter on 2 separate occasions helped pay for feed but only after she was advised the horse was being given up for adoption and gifted to someone who could maintain her. She is now threatening to sue and take horse back. What rights do I have? Compensation for caring for horse etc or right to sell animal.

Asked on 6/13/10, 11:56 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Ann Sattler Aiken, St. Louis & Siljeg, P.S.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

What do you want? Do you want to keep the horse? Do you want the right to sell it? It is important to know what you want to see if / how it can be done.

Read more
6/22/10, 4:16 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in Washington

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88273 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

General Civil Litigation Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now