Washington | Immigration Law
Legal Question
Employer Petition to Spouse Petition for Permanent Status
My husband is British. He entered USA in June 2004 under an H-1..his employer also submitted a petition as his sponsor for permanent status. He currently has an EAD through this process which has been renewed and expires March of 2005. We have been married for 18 months and resided together for 3 years. Since the permanent process through his employer has taken almost 2 years thus far I am going to sponsor him as my spouse as the wait for this is like 7 months we were told by INS and they are only working on February 2002 so far and my husbands receipt is November 2002. Do we have to start from square one, is his EAD nul and voided once we start the new application? Can he work? What forms will I have to use? Can my petition be concurrent with his employers? My husband was an employee for this company now he is a self-employed contractor, do you foresee any problems with that? I have all the forms I believe but times I am confused on the language. Please help. Thank you ever so much for your time and for having this forum.


