Washington | Discrimination Law
Legal Question
My husband experienced racism at work, and reported this to his supervisors. Three weeks had passes, and he received no response to this issue. He then again sent a report to Human Resources, as well as the vice president of his company. The individual accused of making racists slurs towards him and others in the workplace was then fired a month after the original report was made, and two weeks after Human Resources was contacted. A week later his supervisors had a meeting with him, they expressed unhappiness about his report to Human Resources and to the Vice President. He reminded them that he completely followed company policy in his dealing with the situation. A few days after the meeting was held, he was asked to sign a write up form. He did not agree with this, but complied out of fear of losing his job. For the passed month, he has been experiencing a very hostile work environment towards him. It seems like they are attempting to push him to quit, or are trying to now find reasons to fire him. Do you think we should report this to human resources, or find an attorney?


