Legal Question in Bankruptcy in Washington

We filed for bankruptcy (Chapter 13) in Washington State. The bankruptcy was discharged in May 2011. Our attorney advised us to reaffirm several of our debts (including our mortgage, HELOC and timeshare). We later had another attorney tell us that advising us to reaffirm such debts could be considered malpractice. We're now in a position where we're having difficulty paying these debts (as our financial situation hasn't improved at all), but because we reaffirmed we seem to be stuck with them. Is there any course of action we can take outside of simply walking away and defaulting?

Asked on 7/31/13, 5:03 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Charles Andersen Charles Andersen, Atty
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

reaffirmation takes the debt outside of the bankruptcy, the same as if you had never filed on it.

http://www.absolutebankruptcy.org/Chapter_7_Objections.htm

Read more
Answered on 7/31/13, 8:36 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in Washington

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88403 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Bankruptcy Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now