Washington | Business Law
Legal Question
right of repossession
I am selling a commercial fishing boat and was advised to get a ''right of repossession agreement'' from the buyer, who is signing a promissary note for the upaid balance of the transaction. Is there such a form??
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Dan Harris |
Re: right of repossession You probably should not be doing this sale without an experienced maritime attorney since the buyer is buying the vessel with terms. You should be considering more than just a right of repossession. You should also be considering whether to have a mortgage on the vessel, which mortgage should be registered. You also should be considering whether you want to lien various other things that you may be selling with the boat, including, in particular, fishing quotas. The right of repossession you describe sounds to me to be what is more commonly referred to as a self help provision, allowing you to repossess the vessel for non-payment, without having to secure a court order. You are going to want to be very clear as to what sorts of defaults will allow you to engage in self-help or you might find yourself encountering trouble down the road. |
Top Attorneys in WA
The Pacific Law Firm, PLLC
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 944
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-16
Susan L. Beecher, Atty at Law
Kent, WA
Questions Answered: 381
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-15
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 294
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Cruikshank Law Office-Since 1975
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 166
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-08
Baner & Baner
Tacoma, WA
Questions Answered: 164
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
In Pacta, PLLC
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 147
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-15
Law Office of Jonathan Cohen
Brooklyn, NY
Questions Answered: 123
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-02
Aiken, St. Louis & Siljeg, P.S.
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 100
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-22
Wershow & Ritter, Inc. P.S.
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 93
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-03-21
Law Office of P. Jayson Thibodaux
Snohomish, WA
Questions Answered: 59
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-31
Search Questions and Answers


