Washington  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
11/10/09, 6:26 pm

Legal Question


My divorce paperwork states that my ex-wife pays 50% of the combined accrual of debt that has grown in the 7 years we were married. She refuses to pay and states that she will file bankruptcy if I forced it. I know I am responsible to pay all when she refuses and I am, but I also pay child support. What can I do to make her pay her half?


question bubble
11/17/09, 5:43 pm

Legal Answer


Most debts are dischargeable in bankruptcy, child support is not. Hold harmless clauses are useful, but can effectively leave you to look to bankruptcy also if you former spouse files for bankruptcy.

Christopher Steuart

IT Forensics, Inc. 11206 Des Moines Memorial Drive S, Suite 104 Seattle, WA 98168

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search