Washington | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Restitiution
I had 5 years of probation and had to pay restitution. I think I have 28k left to pay, yet I'm off probation. Do I still have to pay?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Elizabeth Powell |
Re: Restitiution Yes, you still have to pay restitution. Here's the problem: if you don't finish paying the restitution, you have not complied with your order of dismissal and judgment and the moment they figure this out (when somebody pulls your file) you are going to get put in jail until this gets straightened out.
Just because probation hasn't figured it out is not a reason to assume your obligation to pay restitution ended or was vacated.
I could see this coming back to haunt you badly, especially if you faced new charges.
"Failing to comply with terms of order" is a whole new charge.
Powell |
Top Attorneys in WA
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 294
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Law Office of Jonathan Cohen
Brooklyn, NY
Questions Answered: 123
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-02
Wershow & Ritter, Inc. P.S.
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 93
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-03-21
Law Office of P. Jayson Thibodaux
Snohomish, WA
Questions Answered: 59
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-31
Wolfe Law Group, LLC
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 34
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-15
TrueNorthLaw PLLC
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 33
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-04-26
Brettin Law Office
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 9
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-08-27
Symmes Law Group, PLLC
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 4
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-05-19
The Law Offices of Matthew R. King, PLLC
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 2
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-11
Robin L. Scott, Attorney at Law
Snohomish, WA
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


