My boyfriend recently got a Minor In Posession of Liquor charge. That was last month. He never recieved anything in the mail about a courtdate or anything about this charge, i know this because i live with him and check our mail. He recently got pulled over and was thrown in jail because of a warrant for his missed court date which he never knew he had. Are courts allowed to do this if one had nothing stating he had court? also, they said he can only be released with a EHM system. How long does one usually have to wear this for a MIP?
1 Answer from Attorneys
It depends. What address was on your boyfriend's driver's license? That is the address the police used to tell the court to send the court date notice. What court is his case in? Each court does things a little differently regarding how they handle MIP cases. Does your boyfriend have any prior MIP charges or case? Does he have any other driving offenses involving alcohol? All of those types of background factors affect how long the court will require your boyfriend to wear his EHM bracelet or anklet. Your boyfriend needs to get a good lawyer ASAP. Good Luck!
Related Questions & Answers
If I was arrested for 4th degree assault domestic violence in washington but it got... Asked 7/15/10, 3:08 pm in United States Washington Criminal Law
I was pulled over for picking up two passengers that were involved in a controlled... Asked 7/09/10, 8:26 pm in United States Washington Criminal Law
If a minor (13 years old) was caught shoplifting and the store manage, detained... Asked 7/04/10, 7:23 am in United States Washington Criminal Law
I am 18 years old live in nanny dating a 21 year old. I am not suppose to have my... Asked 6/23/10, 2:17 pm in United States Washington Criminal Law
Good Afternoon, May I please obtain confirmation on what types of case numbers in... Asked 6/22/10, 2:13 pm in United States Washington Criminal Law