Washington  |  DUI Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 1/14/10, 6:40 pm

if someone gets a DUI in washington state, can they still vacation abroad or in another state?

1 Answer


Answered on: 1/20/10, 3:27 pm by Jeffrey Bassett

I always begin everything with "to my knowledge". The answer to your question: (1) I know of no prohibition with respect to visiting other US States. However (2) as for other countries, it depends. As an example: Canada considers DUI a serious offense and will not allow you across the border in most instances. There is the ability to obtain a limited visit permit, and if your DUI has been very long ago, you may be able to petition for a determination of rehabilitation. Each country will have its own rules. A simple internet search (e.g., "country name DUI entry") may provide you the information you seek.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Jeffrey P. Bassett, Attorney 3313 Viewcrest Drive NE Bremerton, WA 98310

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

166 Answers given in the last few hours.

7526 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search