Washington  |  Elder Law

question bubble
11/05/09, 1:45 pm

Legal Question


can we force our aunt who displays dementia and is being taken advantage of financially ($100,000. missing from her savings account) to seek medical exam. she is refusing to go.


question bubble
11/10/09, 2:09 pm

Legal Answer


Your best bet is to file a petition to establish a guardianship for her. The court appoints a guardian ad litem on her behalf and then they can establish her competency. If the court finds necessary, it will appoint a guardian over her person and her estate. We frequently see petitions filed by DSHS too. Please let us know if you have further questions.

Ann Sattler

Aiken, St. Louis & Siljeg, P.S. 801 Second Ave., Suite 1200 Seattle, WA 98104

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search