Washington  |  Family Law

question bubble
11/02/09, 1:38 pm

Legal Question


My daughter is going to be married within the next few months to a man she met only a short time ago. He is eager to adopt my grand-daughter who is five years of age and who's biological father has never been in the picture. My daughter has sole custody and I am in her will to take care of the child in case of my daughters death.

I believe that adopting so soon is a mistake, in that the relationship is still way too new, thus the chance of a divorce, especially considering a fifteen year age difference and such short courtship, is better than average.

Is there some type of waiting period for adoptions in cases like this? Will a judge take this into consideration when making a decision?

Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search