Washington  |  Family Law

question bubble
11/13/09, 7:39 am

Legal Question


My name is guy. I live in Washington state. I will try to keep this short. I knew my wife for about 3 months and we got married, how stupid was that. She knew I was on mental disability and got a check. She was hurt on the job just before we got married. She did physical therapy and got better, but never went back to work and has not tried, she likes doing nothing and have me pay all the bills. The plan was for her to go back to work so we could save for a down payment on a house. We have no kids and still have our separate bank accounts. I brought nothing into this marriage, but my clothes and my check. We live in a small studio apartment $400 a month, we live real cheap. We have been married for 11 months now. She has physically abused me so much, I flinch when she moves her hand towards me, and she thinks its funny that I flinch from her hitting me. Its so bad the landlords live below us can hear me always saying stop hitting me. She mentally and verbally abuses me every day and I cant take it no more. She loves to tell me that I'm a ugly useless old man, that I'm a mental case, stupid and the list goes on. It's like I'm a abused roommate that's here to pay the bills. I want to divorce her and be free from the abuse, I can't take it no more. There is no love, caring, affection, sex, talking, nothing but watching TV. I get $1627 a month on my disability, and it was this amount before we were married and the amount has not changed because of us getting married, she has nothing to do with my check. Will I have to pay anything to her when we get divorced. I need to have an idea of what will happen. She is able to work, but will not try to work. I'm just being used for my money. I don't think I should have to pay anything to a woman that abuses me every day and is able to work. I just want to be free. The landlords will even testify about the abuse they can hear. They live below us. They even kicked her out once because they were sick of hearing me say "stop hitting me" I should have never let her move back in. I can file my self for the divorce and get a discount on the file fee. I just need an idea of what might happen after I file and get the divorce. Mentally I cant take much more abuse.


Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search