9/25/09, 8:23 am

Question

My father-in-law is very suddenly ill and sadly terminal. My mother-in-law has worked for a large company for nearly 35 years and has been a model employee. She has taken 4 days off (vacation time) to take him to the doctor and be with him in the hospital. The HR department head notified her yesterday that her job was under review, because of this. She will qualify for FMLA, but the head of the HR department is threatening her and creating a very hostile work environment for her. To be honest, the HR head is a total jerk and everyone in the company is scared to death of her. From another employee there, we were told that the FLMA paperwork would need to be submitted to the president of the company or it would be denied by this HR head. What are my mother-in-law's rights? What legal action could be taken against the company? She is not trying to accomplish anything other than spend the last few days or possibly weeks with her husband, keep her health insurance, and make sure that she has a job to go back to and a life after he is gone. The stress that the company has placed on her is shocking at a time like this. What can we do?


Answer

So long as the employer has a sufficient number of employee
  Next Question ►

 


Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search