Washington | Medical Leave
Legal Question
fired from job
i was fired from my job during the birth of my child. he was born with segnificant brain damage and was in the hospital for some time and my employer fired me during that .
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Susan Beecher |
Re: fired from job First, I am so sorry to hear about your child's disability. We all hope for our children to be born healthy, and there is a very difficult period of adjustment when parents come to grips with the fact that their child is going to have special needs. I can offer you no help for that, but I wish you strength.
As to your being fired from your job, the details matter. In order for you to be under the protection of FMLA, your employer must have at least 50 employees during at least 20 weeks of the year. The circumstances of your termination are also important.
Particularly if you think your employer might be subject to FMLA, and you think the firing might be associated with your time off for the birth of your child, you may want to spend 30 minutes or so with an attorney to review the facts of your case.
|
Top Attorneys in WA
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 294
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Crispin Employment Lawyers
Portland, OR
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-21
Aiken, St. Louis & Siljeg, P.S.
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 100
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-22
Wershow & Ritter, Inc. P.S.
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 93
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-03-21
Law Office of P. Jayson Thibodaux
Snohomish, WA
Questions Answered: 59
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-31
Rieke & Savage, P.C.
Portland, OR
Questions Answered: 14
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-05-26
Law Office of D. Jill Pugh
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 8
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-17
The Law Offices of Matthew R. King, PLLC
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 2
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-11
Lish Whitson, PLLC
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-26
Law Offices of Ricardo A. Guarnero, P.S.
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


