Washington | Medical Leave
Legal Question
FMLA medical benefits
We have an employee not returning to work after the birth of her child. Can I cancel her benefits at the end of the month?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Jill Pugh |
Re: FMLA medical benefits You want to get in writing that the employee does not intend to return to her job after the birth of her child. IF she is definitely not returning, and IF it is your company's usual practice to terminate benefits at the end of the month in which an employee gives notice of quitting you can cancel her benefits. HOWEVER, if your company is more than 20 employees you will have to offer her COBRA continuing medical coverage. COBRA does not require you to pay her premiums, but you do have to provide her with the appropriate paperwork to elect to pay the premiums herself and stay on the company's insurance for up to 18 months. Given the state and federal laws that apply here, you want to be absolutely certain that you are not treating her differently than any other employee, injured or disabled or otherwise. |
Top Attorneys in WA
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 294
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Crispin Employment Lawyers
Portland, OR
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-21
Aiken, St. Louis & Siljeg, P.S.
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 100
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-22
Wershow & Ritter, Inc. P.S.
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 93
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-03-21
Law Office of P. Jayson Thibodaux
Snohomish, WA
Questions Answered: 59
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-31
Rieke & Savage, P.C.
Portland, OR
Questions Answered: 14
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-05-26
Law Office of D. Jill Pugh
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 8
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-17
The Law Offices of Matthew R. King, PLLC
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 2
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-11
Lish Whitson, PLLC
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 1
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-26
Law Offices of Ricardo A. Guarnero, P.S.
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


