Washington  |  Federal Tort Claims

question bubble
10/11/07, 12:00 am

Legal Question


from Washington State court to federal dist. court

Without taking a lot of your time, could somone answer the following questions...

QUESTION 1:

Could you tell me what federal or Washington state court civil rule allows for an individual to take a state Superior Court decision, a decison that has been challenged in the state's higher court --- to federal district court?

Also,

If a new complaint is sought in federal court, based upon civil rights

violation, where would I look to find the rules that define the statute of limits timeline?

Your help is appreciated.

Thank you.

Lance


question bubble
10/11/07, 12:50 am

Legal Answer


Re: from Washington State court to federal dist. court

Your "Question 1" is a simple question, but doesn't have a simple answer. In general, though, in some types of cases and some issues, the Federal courts will indeed look to state law, to determine how to decide an issue.

On your second question, take a look at 42 U.S.C. section 1983, and surrounding statutes. Better yet, take a look at the online help at http://www.peoples-law.com/individual-rts/civil-rights/Federal_law.htm.

Good luck to you!

-- Sam

Sam Hochberg

Sam Hochberg & Associates
750 Morgan Bldg, 720 SW Washington Street
Portland, OR 97205

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search