Washington  |  Immigration Law

question bubble
10/04/09, 11:51 pm

Legal Question


I am a US citizen and my fiance is Indian. He needs to finish school- 2 more years to get his degree and then the plan is for him to come here and work and we would like to get married as soon as we can plan a simple wedding. But we are realizing that immigration laws are not so simple and we need to start looking at options. Neither of us have any money right now- I am unemployed and he is a student but at least we have some time to start saving for the future. He has some family in california that could possibly sponsor him but I am in Seattle and we would both prefer if he could come straight here with a greencard to work as soon as he gets to the US. If he came to california on a travel visa or something like that and then we got married while he was here would it help him get a greencard faster? Or if I went to India next year and married him there would he get a greencard by the time his finishes school a year later? We would like to just get married when we are ready to plan a wedding here but if getting a greencard is going to be a problem then we will do what it takes to speed things up. Can you please tell me what are the best options for us to consider and what these options will cost and the time it will take from start to greencard and where should we go to start the process. We are starting from complete ignorance of immigration laws and no money to pay for a lawyers advice. Thank you so much for your help.

-Gloria


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search