Washington | Immigration Law
Legal Question
Hello - I have an immigration question. I am a Canadian who has lived in Washington State for 29 years with a green card. My wife is an American citizen. We are about to file Chapter 7 bankruptcy. What effect will this have on my obtaining American citizenship?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Alice Yardum-Hunter |
To qualify for U.S. citizenship, one must prove good moral character for at least the period of time since getting the green card. One way of doing that (along with other things) is to show payment of required taxes or fulfilling agreement to pay installments to the IRS. Bankruptcy itself does not mean you are not of good moral character.
As this issue is coming up more and more in naturalization cases, but historically is unusual, I believe you could benefit from representation to prove your good character. Immigration Officers don't always know the law. Representation by competent counsel would better insure success in your case.
The above doesn't create an attorney client relationship and is not legal advice. Representation begins upon mutually agreed contract to provide legal services in the future, not based on online response to questions.
I look forward to the opportunity of working with you in the future.
Sincerely, |
Top Attorneys in WA
Law Offices of Brian D. Lerner, A Professional Corporation
Long Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 1043
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
The Pacific Law Firm, PLLC
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 944
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-16
Ajay K. Arora, Attorney-at-Law, P.C.
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 294
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Law Offices of Seeta Nangia
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 255
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-09
W. Andrew Harrell, Attorney at Law
Long Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 250
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-24
Manchanda Law Offices PLLC
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 137
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-15
Wershow & Ritter, Inc. P.S.
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 93
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-03-21
Thuong-Tri Legal Services, PLLC
Renton, WA
Questions Answered: 88
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-09-03
Pacific Law, Inc., P.S.
Fife, WA
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-08-09
Search Questions and Answers


