Washington  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
11/08/08, 8:15 pm

Legal Question


use of brand name

in a published story about drinking beer, the main character's name is Blatz, is this a violation of the exclusive rights of the brand name of Blatz Beer? Though never in the story does Blatz brand beer ever appear.


question bubble
11/14/08, 4:42 pm

Legal Answer


Re: use of brand name

I think this would be considered fair use. The question is whether there is any likelihood of confusion as to whether your product (the story) comes from Blatz Beer, which seems unlikely. Still, if you are basing a major business decision off of this, then you should talk to a trademark attorney about your specific situation. Otherwise, if they do not like it then they are likely to ask you to take it down (assuming it is published on a website).

Mason Boswell

Boswell IP Law 601 Union Street, Suite 4200 Seattle, WA 98101-4036

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search