Washington  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
2/11/09, 2:01 am

Legal Question


Doll Clothes copyright?

Hello thank you for taking the time to read my question, I’m member of a web based forum about the collecting and customizing ABJD’s ( Asian ball jointed dolls) There has been an ongoing debate about whether or not doll clothing and outfits are or can be copyrighted?

An example of this would be if a seamstress on the forum is commissioned by another user to make him or her an Outfit based on a design from a doll companies outfit. Would this be considered copyright infringement?

Is it true that only labels and graphics can be copyrighted? Not the basic design of the clothes.


question bubble
2/11/09, 2:11 am

Legal Answer


Re: Doll Clothes copyright?

You should look at design patents which can be used to protect the look of a physical article. Fashion designers have been pushing for copyright protection of clothing, but to my knowledge Congress has not passed anything yet. Here is a good blog article on the topic: http://www.techdirt.com/articles/20080327/002456664.shtml.

- Mason

Mason Boswell

Boswell IP Law 601 Union Street, Suite 4200 Seattle, WA 98101-4036

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search