Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Washington

My current tenant moved out and we found that almost everyroom's carpet had been damaged by red+green paint and bleach.

We had hired a carpet stain/spot remove and cleanning. But these spots are permant and cannot removed.

My question is whether we should replace the carpet and put the charge on my previous tenant.

Two rooms are in question.

One room has 4 middle-finger-size red paint spots. These 4 paint spot are spreaded like a table's 4 legs.

Another room is the master bedroom, where almost 20 small red+green paint dots are spreaded in the center.

If we decided to replace the carpet, would it align with the law to charge the tenant for the cost?

Asked on 10/06/12, 11:47 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jonathan Baner Baner & Baner
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

The current tenant? Absolutely not. The other tenant that left = yes, but you need to do it within the timeframe for inspections/notice.

Read more
Answered on 10/08/12, 9:41 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Washington

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88413 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Michelle ScopelliteGoldstein & Scopellite, PCTucson, AZ
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now