Washington  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
11/12/09, 10:48 am

Legal Question


I was in two car accidents with in two weeks. I am at fault in both cases. In both accidents I have been notifed that my insurance will not cover the damages. I am expecting to be sued in both cases. I do not have any money or assets. I rent and make payments on my vehicle. what should I do next?


question bubble
11/17/09, 5:41 pm

Legal Answer


This answer is in layers. First, you should consult with an attorney that does insurance bad faith litigation. Your insurance company's refusal to defend may make them liable. If however, that was a soundly based decision by your insurance company, then I'd next consult with an attorney that does civil (tort) litigation and see if your assessment of the liability situation is accurate, and what you should expect to have as a judgment against you. Only then you may want to consider consulting with a bankruptcy attorney. You could save everybody a lot of trouble if you are going to lose the suits and have significant judgments against you, to do the bankruptcy before the civil suits (and list them as liabilities).

Christopher Steuart

IT Forensics, Inc. 11206 Des Moines Memorial Drive S, Suite 104 Seattle, WA 98168

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search